Friday 29 September

Nathalie Stutzmann conducts

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

Time 7:30pm
National Concert Hall Dublin

Tickets: from €15 more info

  • Nathalie Stutzmann
  • Veronika Eberle
  • Brahms
    Violin Concerto in D / 38’
  • Beethoven
    Symphony No. 1 in C / 26’
  • Prokofiev
    Symphony No. 1 ‘Classical’ / 14’

The long-awaited concert marking Nathalie Stutzmann’s debut as Principal Guest Conductor of the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra.

An evening featuring a work that has become one of the world’s most popular concert hall favourites and inspired an Andrew Lloyd Webber hit, and two thrilling first steps on epic symphonic journeys that pay dancing homage to the masters of the past offer a trio of masterpieces to launch our new season. Virtuoso violinist Veronika Eberle – ‘a commanding stage presence’ (LA Times) – is our soloist.

Some of the greatest violinists of the 19th century refused to play Brahms’s only Violin Concerto, claiming its formidable technical challenges rendered it ‘unplayable’. History has proved them wrong. A firework display of instrumental dexterity, it is one of the crowning works of the violin repertoire with a glorious melody at its heart, orchestral writing of ravishing detail and music rich in romance. It’s third movement inspired Andrew Lloyd Webber and Time Rice’s chart-topping musical theatre hit, ‘Don’t’ Cry for Me, Argentina’.

First Symphonies by Beethoven and Prokofiev both cast an admiring backwards glance at their predecessors as they begin their own enthralling explorations of the form. Both pay delectable homage to Mozart and Haydn, with Beethoven’s – memorably likened to ‘a comedy of manners’ – also striking out for new directions and innovations. Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony is a more delicate but no less colourful exercise in nostalgia, all the more remarkable for its forward-looking treatment of traditional forms.

SOUNDINGS: 6.30pm In Conversation:  Conductor Nathalie Stutzmann 

“Nathalie is the real thing. So much love, intensity and sheer technique. We need more conductors like her”
Sir Simon Rattle, -