Friday 05 April 2019

Finlandia & Triple Concerto

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

Time 7:30pm
National Concert Hall Dublin

Tickets: more info

  • Jean Deroyer
  • Fidelio Trio

    Finlandia / 8’


    Triple Concerto for Violin, Cello & Piano / 33’


    Symphony No. 7, ‘The Symphony of Life’ / 40

Three giants of the 19th century, three masterpieces and the Fidelio Trio. Perhaps three really is the perfect number after all!

Ever been to Finland, home of the brown bear, the Aurora Borealis and someone called Santa Claus? No? (Don’t worry, the thought of Artic cold bothers us too.) Now you don’t have to. Rooted in the very soil (underneath all that snow) Sibelius’s Finlandia is a patriotic and passionate tribute to a country breaking free from Russian occupation, its famous middle section (borrowed for the hauntingly beautiful hymn Be still, my soul) a stirring, unofficial national anthem. It’s like being there. But without the chill factor.

The ‘compelling and electrifying’ (Sunday Tribune) Fidelio Trio join the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra for Beethoven’s remarkable quarts-into-pint pots Triple Concerto – a one-of-a-kind from the German genius. And proof that three into one does go as violin, cello and piano join the orchestra in a rich, beautifully balanced dialogue between equals. (A WhatsApp thread it aint!)

‘Composed simply for the sake of composing’, Tchaikovsky’s Seventh Symphony was abandoned before it was finished (composers, eh?) and later reconstructed by a.n.other. A patchwork quilt of borrowed themes, it’s Tchaikovsky without the angst: light, effervescent and dance-like. Making the most of what a symphony orchestra can do, it’s not called The Symphony of Life for nothing.