Wednesday 23 January

Totally Tchaikovsky

RTÉ Concert Orchestra

Time 8:00pm
National Concert Hall Dublin

Tickets: from €12.00 more info


Conductor: Robert Houlihan
Soloist: Josu de Solaun

This marvellous programme showcases the breadth of Tchaikovsky’s genius.  The Spanish sensation Josu de Solaun makes his RTÉ Concert Orchestra début with Tchaikovsky’s 1st Piano Concerto – an ideal match given his combination of virtuosity and expressiveness. The composer’s genius for melody also infuses the rest of the music on the night, which will end with a bang with the 1812 Overture.

“De Solaun lets expression lead at all times, no matter how intense the virtuosity. Th­ere’s a bouncy vitality to his playing, a warm and intimate approach to phrasing and a beautifully mellow tone.” BBC Music Magazine