Tuesday 09 July

Summer Lunchtime

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

Time 1:05pm
National Concert Hall Dublin

Tickets: €12

  • Peter Shannon
  • Ella Nagy
  • Boieldieu

    Overture to The Caliph of Baghdad

  • Chopin

    Larghetto and Allegro vivace from Piano Concerto No.2

  • Berlioz

    Rob Roy Overture

  • Massenet

    Castillane, Aragonaise annd Navarraise from Le Cid Ballet Music

Romance, fantasy, love of homeland and legendary heroes take centre stage in a concert that features 2019 RIAM Maura Dowdall Concerto Competition,  Ella Nagy.

From the dawn of the 19th century, the Overture to François-Adrien Boieldieu’s The Caliph of Baghdad boasts bristling, bright, incident-filled music full of passion and poetry.

Chopin’s richly romantic Second Piano Concerto was one of the last works he wrote for orchestra before he focused exclusively on music for solo piano. Its melting Larghetto is haunted by memories of unrequited love for a fellow Warsaw Conservatory pupil and filled with the ardent passion of a composer then just 19-years-old. The dancing Allegro vivace entwines piano and orchestra with all the compelling immediacy of a coloratura aria.

Berlioz’s concert overture Rob Roy memorably quotes the stirring Robert Burns tune Scots, wha hae wi’ Wallace Bled in a colourful, dramatic reimagining of Walter Scott’s novel about the outlaw who became a folk hero.

And the hero’s baton – a sword in this case – passes to the medieval Spanish nobleman and warrior, Le Cid in three thrilling passages from Massenet’s epic opera of the same name. Taken from the ballet suite fashioned after the opera’s premiere, the Castillane, Aragonaise and Navarraise treat three delightfully varied regional Spanish dances to an orchestral arrangement of radiant romance and drama.