Tuesday 16 July

Summer Lunchtime

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

Time 1:05pm
National Concert Hall Dublin

Tickets: €12

  • Timothy Henty
  • Killian White
  • Berlioz

    Overture to Beatrice and Benedict

  • Dvořák

    Silent Woods

  • Smetana

    Three Dances from The Bartered Bride

  • Tchaikovsky

    Pezzo capriccioso

  • Dvořák

    Slavonic Dances Nos.2 and 7, Op.72

Shakespearean lovers, Sicilian sunshine, Bohemian merry-making, spirited Slavonic dances, an enchanted arboreal retreat and heart-on-sleeve Tchaikovsky: music to make you smile, laugh, dream and shed a tear.

Berlioz’s last major work, Beatrice and Benedict was a setting of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing that focused on its two feuding lovers. The Overture marries sharp-tongued humour, stirring declarations of love and delicate pastoral imagery in a textbook-perfect display of orchestral finesse.

Star in the making and winner of the 2018 RDS Music Bursary, Killian White performs two sublime works for cello and orchestra. Dvořák’s charmingly atmospheric Silent Woods finds the cello taking a lingering, lyrical stroll through a sylvan landscape filled with birdsong, Tchaikovsky’s aching Pezzo capriccioso – his last piece for a solo instrument and orchestra – movingly blends melancholic angst and virtuosic bravura.

Smetana’s The Bartered Bride, a buoyant comedy about true love triumphing despite family and village shenanigans, makes colourful use of traditional Bohemian folk tunes. A popular concert item pairing a stately polka and energetic furiant with a sprightly ‘Dance of the Comedians’, the Three Dances bring the bustling, busy life of the village to delightfully animated life.