Friday 29 November

John Kinsella World Premiere

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

Time 7:30pm
National Concert Hall Dublin

Tickets: from €15 more info

  • Jean Deroyer
  • Vadym Kholodenko
  • Kinsella

    Symphony No.11 / 28’ world premiere

  • Prokofiev

    Piano Concerto No.3 / 27’ 

  • Sibelius

    Symphony No.3 / 29’

A thrill-a-minute piano concerto, a rousing and vibrant symphony and the world premiere performance of an Irish master’s new symphony promises a night to remember.

The most popular of Prokofiev’s three Piano Concertos, the Third is an animated display of virtuoso fireworks combining eccentricity and humour to brilliant effect. A rollercoaster of a work, written with tongue firmly in cheek, it is guaranteed to leave you a little out of breath but with a huge, satisfying grin.

Sibelius’s Third Symphony finds the orchestra animatedly talking to itself: different sections taking turns to lead a conversation that moves from an energetic blend of scurrying peasant dances and hymn-like grandeur via gentle, poetic restraint to a rousing climax of orchestral power and potency.

A towering figure in contemporary Irish music, John Kinsella’s Symphony No.11 continues his life-long love for the evocative soundworld of Sibelius, the father of modern Finnish music. Dotted throughout the three-movement work are telling echoes of Sibelius’s Fourth and Seventh Symphonies, lit up by revealing use of solo trombone and glockenspiel – an unlikely but altogether mesmeric combination.

Joining the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra for this unmissable event are the ‘electrifying’ (ResMusica) conductor Jean Deroyer and ‘knockout’ (Bachtrack) pianist Vadym Kholodenko.