Friday 06 December

Chief Conductor Jaime Martín conducts

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

Time 7:30pm
National Concert Hall Dublin

Tickets: from €15 more info

  • Jaime Martín
  • Ellinor D’Melon
  • Schnelzer

    Burn My Letters: Remembering Clara / 12’ Irish premiere
    Co-commission from Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, Gävle Symphony Orchestra and the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra


  • Tchaikovsky

    Violin Concerto / 33’

  • Berlioz

    Symphonie fantastique / 49’

Please note: This concert will be preceded at 6.30pm by Soundings free pre-concert talk with Jaime Martín, Ellinor D’Melon and Albert Schnelzer in conversation.

A melody-filled, ripely emotional Russian concerto, a brilliantly kaleidoscopic French orchestral showpiece and the Irish premiere of a touching new work by a modern Swedish master provide an evening of richly satisfying contrasts to engage and excite both head and heart.

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra Chief Conductor Jaime Martín joins with the ‘unique and flawless, simply fantastic’ (Heimat Report) violinist Ellinor D’Melon for Tchaikovsky’s sumptuous, heart-on-sleeve Violin Concerto.

Tempestuous, tortured and thrilling, Tchaikovsky’s only violin concerto is a veritable ballet in sound, violin and orchestra bound together with his stunning sense of intermingled rhapsody and drama. Pulse-quickening and heart-stopping in its often raw poetry, its virtuosic demands on the soloist are the musical equivalent of a high-wire act of gymnastic daring and eloquence.

Close your eyes, tune in, turn on and surrender yourself to the uniquely involving soundworld of Berlioz’s shattering, sensual Symphonie fantastique. An unmatched display of a symphony orchestra at full throttle, it changed the course and sound of orchestral music in its portrayal of a lovesick artist who seeks escape from heartache with the dubious help of opium. Intense and saturated with vivid, dreamlike images, it’s an eye-opening journey into the dark mysteries of desire.

Co-commissioned by the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, Albert Schnelzer’s Burn My Letters: Remembering Clara pays poignant tribute to a pioneering composer only now, in the 200th anniversary year of her birth, receiving deserved recognition: Clara Schumann.

Based on her letters to life-long family friend Johannes Brahms – Clara voiced by wild and free flute, Brahms by a more controlled and cautious bassoon – it’s an intriguing, enchanting, intimate and illuminating dialogue between the fellow composers.