Tuesday 29 August

RTÉ Concert Orchestra Summer Lunchtime

RTÉ Concert Orchestra

Time 1:05pm
National Concert Hall Dublin

Tickets: €15


Robert Houlihan conductor
Rowel Friers piano
Presented by Liz Nolan, RTÉ lyric fm
RTÉ Concert Orchestra

Liadov The Enchanted Lake, Op. 62
Saint-Saëns Africa, Op.89
Saint-Saëns Caprice-Valse Op. 76 ‘Wedding Cake’
Glazunov ‘Summer’ from The Seasons, Op. 67
Stravinsky Circus Polka, K64 

Robert Houlihan conducts the RTÉ Concert Orchestra in a lunchtime concert packed with humour and exoticism.  

Liadov invites us to be still by the shores of a serenely enchanting lake, before Dublin International Piano Competition prize-winner Rowel Friers joins the orchestra to perform two captivating musical gems by Saint-Saëns. Rooted in Greek mythology, ‘Summer’ from Glazunov’s ballet The Seasons is set amid a landscape of dancing nymphs and cornflowers reveling in the warmth of the sun. Stravinsky brings this lunchtime concert to a riotous finish with his comical Circus Polka. Written for a ballet production incorporating 50 elephants and 50 ballerinas, the work certainly manages to conjure up baby elephants showing off their very best jeté!