Artist change for The Dream of Gerontius

19 May 2017

Rebecca Afonwy-Jones to replace Anna Stéphany in The Dream of Gerontius on Friday at the National Concert Hall

Rebecca Afonwy-Jones, mezzo-soprano, will replace Anna Stéphany in The Dream of Gerontius with the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra and RTÉ Philharmonic Choir this Friday, 19 May 2017 at the National Concert Hall. Anna has had to withdraw due to unforeseen circumstances.

Elgar’s masterpiece, The Dream of Gerontius, was the largest work he composed and its scale matches its depth of feeling and devotional fervour. It is set to John Henry Newman’s poem which depicts a soul’s journey through death to Purgatory and the promise of redemption. It is a richly orchestrated and moving testimony to the power of faith. With support from the RTÉ Philharmonic Choir and three leading soloists – tenor Mark Le Brocq, baritone Neal Davies and mezzo-soprano Rebecca Afonwy-Jones, The Dream of Gerontius is regarded as the most epic choral work ever written.


Rebecca Afonwy-Jones

Rebecca studied at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama and at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland. Rebecca also participated on the emerging artist programme for Scottish Opera and was an associate artist with Welsh National Opera, a relationship that continues into the coming seasons. Rebecca has also appeared regularly with Opera North and maintains a busy concert diary in repertoire that stretches from Handel to Judith Weir (full biography attached).


Friday 19 May 2017, 8.00pm, National Concert Hall
RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra Season 2016-2017

Please note that there will be no interval other than a short pause between Part 1 and Part 2.

The Dream of Gerontius/100’

Gerhard Markson conductor
RTÉ Philharmonic Choir (chorus master: Mark Hindley)
Rebecca Afonwy-Jones mezzo-soprano
Mark Le Brocq tenor
Neal Davies baritone

Tickets: €38.00, €32.50, €25.50, €17 (Limited concessions available:  €34.20, €29.25, €22.95, €15.30)
Booking: 01 417 0000 | |