Tuesday 27 August

RTÉ Concert Orchestra Summer Lunchtime

RTÉ Concert Orchestra

Time 1:05pm
National Concert Hall Dublin

Tickets: €15


RTÉ Concert Orchestra
Karen Ní Bhroin, conductor
Michael Seaver, clarinet
Macdara Ó Seireadáin, basset horn
Presented by Liz Nolan, RTÉ lyric fm

This final RTÉ Concert Orchestra 2024 Summer Lunchtime concert promises a soul-stirring delight, with a programme including the moving Overture by Bacewicz, Borodin’s symphonic poem In the Steppes of Central Asia, and concert pieces from Mendelssohn.

Polish composer Grażyna Bacewicz’s Overture was written during the Nazi occupation of Poland in World War II and remains a defiant outcry and an exhilarating piece.

One of the most celebrated figures of the early Romantic Period, Mendelssohn is also included in the programme; the RTÉ Concert Orchestra, with woodwind players Michael Seaver and Macdara Ó Seireadáin, play delightful concert pieces No. 1 and No. 2 on clarinet and basset horn.

Excerpts from Dvořák’s Slavonic Dances, influenced by styles and forms from Bohemia, will also be performed, showcasing their dazzling intensity and folk-dance elegance. 

Presented by the RTÉ Concert Orchestra.